GDMA 2200 – Week 3, Project 1: Roughs

(catch up, need to remember weekly blogging)

For my initial explorations, I thought about grids and how to incorporate RPL’s existing newsletter colours or scrap them all together. I realized that working with their orange and different gray tones made the kids newsletter very un-kid friendly. Even though the audience for the newsletter are the parents, I thought it was best to move away from using greys and also being careful about the amount of white both of which I thought took away the fun in the design.

Screen-Shot-2014-01-21-at-3.51.38-PMScreen Shot 2014-01-23 at 8.40.22 AM copy

I’ve settled into a colour palette of orange, yellow and white which I’m more of less happy with but I definitely think what I’ve got is rather lackluster in terms of a grid and design. I originally went with this format because I didn’t like the images they’ve selected, but also considering the kind of events they have, the stock images would be rather boring (ex. kid reading, kid playing a board game, kid doing homework etc). I’m going to try and incorporate images in another way and make my grid less structured 2 columns.

Leave a Reply

